A State of California historical marker is located at the main pedestrian entrance to the fairgrounds. Some fair buildings visible on the 1942 aerial photograph may remain, but there have been extensive changes at the site. Behind (south of) the fairgrounds the former barracks area is now a gravel parking lot. Eleven concrete foundations there may be from the assembly center: the slabs are in poor condition, but most measure approximately 20 ft by 100 ft, the standard barracks size Concrete floors for temporary barracks were unusual, if not unique, given the assembly centers' hasty construction. The only relocation center with concrete barracks floors was Granada, where, coincidentally, the internees at Merced were transferred.
With the departure of the Japanese, the installation was turned over to the 4th Air Service Area Command, although the 1945 inventory of Army facilities still listed it as a Japanese Assembly Center. Later in 1942, Army personnel arrived at the fairgrounds for training, including a chemical warfare section and an infantry unit. It is possible that this post was named "Camp Merced." During the war years, about 5,500 black troops also were quartered there. After the war, the fairgrounds was turned over to the 35th District Agricultural Association and thefair returned in 1946 with a record-breaking attendance of 30,000.
762d Chemical Depot Company